PFA Player Of The Year: 5 times a Spurs player won the award

25 Apr 1999: David Ginola of Tottenham Hotspur is named PFA Player of the Year at the PFA Awards Ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. \ Mandatory Credit: Clive Mason /Allsport
25 Apr 1999: David Ginola of Tottenham Hotspur is named PFA Player of the Year at the PFA Awards Ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. \ Mandatory Credit: Clive Mason /Allsport /

The Professional Footballers’ Association Players’ Player of the Year or as it’s known in simpler terms “The PFA Player of the Year award” is the annual award given to the best player in the Premier League at the end of every season, as voted by their peers.

The awards were first introduced in the 1973-74 season and have continued to play a part in the English top tiers football calendar ever since. Four different Spurs players have managed to claim the prestigious end of season award, which makes us the team with the third most wins of the trophy ever.

So sit back, relax and take a look at some of the successful years for our Spurs heroes.

1975-76 – Pat Jennings
A year after the awards were created Spurs legend Pat Jennings managed to capture the prize. He was the first goalkeeper ever to win the award and to this day remains only one of two that have.

Jennings made 472 appearances for Tottenham in a spell that spanned over thirteen years with the club, winning an FA Cup, two League Cups and Uefa Cup during this time.

1986-87 – Clive Allen
In a fantastic year for Allen, whose career saw him play for seven different London clubs, he managed to score 49 goals in all competitions for Spurs which made him a more than worthy winner of the award.

Son of Tottenham legend Les Allen who famously won the double in the 1960-61 season, Allen was always destined for great things with the club.

1998-99 – David Ginola
Another history-making Spurs winner of the accolade, Ginola was the first player in the history of the award to win playing with a team who finished outside of the top-four.

Ginola will have a place in our hearts forever, and this was highlighted when the Frenchman was inducted into the Tottenham Hotspur Hall of Fame in 2008 – Merci David.

More from Tottenham History

2010-11 – Gareth Bale
Our most decorated winner of the award, Bale won his first PFA accolade in the 2010-11 season. The season couldn’t have got off to a better start for Bale- who could forget that volley on the opening day against Stoke?

It was a coming of age performance at the San Siro in the Champions League, however, that optimised Bale’s season on a whole, where the Welshman scored his first senior hat-trick. No one had predicted this from Bale, yet there was a lot more to come.

2012-13 – Gareth Bale
In Bales final season for Tottenham, the Welsh international showed the Premier League and the world his outstanding talents. Bale managed to pick up the PFA player of the year and young player of the year to round off a fantastic season. That summer Bale moved to Real Madrid in a deal worth over £80million, making him at the time the most expensive player in the world.

Next: Breaking the bank: Spurs 10 most expensive signings of all-time

So there you have five times Spurs players have managed to capture English football’s most prestigious individual accolade, there is no doubt you’ll be seeing a few more Spurs players claiming the award in years to come – with Dele Alli and Harry Kane at the front of the queue after receiving the PFA Young Player of the Year award three times between them in the last three years.