Gareth Bale Wins PFA Player and Young Player of the Year Awards


Tottenham’s Gareth Bale has won the two top awards at the Professional Footballers Association ceremony. He was acknowledged by his fellow professionals as the ‘Young Player of the Year’ and the ‘Player of the Year’.

Congratulations to Gareth Bale on winning the two awards – it was thoroughly deserved.

Gareth Bale has been lighting up Tottenham’s season with spectacular goals and keeping them on track for a finish which would see them in the Champions League next season. This year he has scored 24 goals in all competitions with 19 in the Premier League. Bale knew little about the goal which he scored against Wigan on Saturday as it rebounded off his foot as he stretched to block the goalkeeper’s clearance but it has been a season in which he could have his own ‘Goal of the Season’ competition. He scored a hat-trick against Aston Villa on Boxing Day and since the beginning of January has scored 14 goals in all competitions. In 2013, Spurs have won only one match in which he has not scored, against Reading on New Year’s Day. It has been an outstanding season for Gareth Bale.

How things have turned around for Bale who after an encouraging start with Tottenham struggled to make the break through. Eventually his class won through and he has been a regular since January, 2010 as he assisted Spurs in a dramatic climax to the season which took  them into the Champions League for the first time. That season in Europe was memorable especially Bale’s hat-trick against Inter Milan and a stunning performance in the second match in London.

Now Tottenham’s prized possession, he is coveted by every top club but Spurs are hoping that by qualifying for next season’s Champions League they will be able to keep him at White Hart Lane for another year.

Speaking after the award the Guardian reported that Bale was “extremely proud” to win the award and he acknowledged the part played in his success by the team and the manager. Bale said,

"“It’s a massive honour. To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game. It’s great to win it and I am delighted. When you look at the list, there are some massive names on it but I couldn’t have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager.”"

Last season, Kyle Walker won the PFA ‘Young Player of the Year’ award and Bale is the third player to win both awards. He is also the fifth player to win the ‘Player of the Year’ award twice, having won it in 2010-11.

Premier League Team of the Year

Jan Vertonghen included in PFA PL ‘Team of the Year’ [Photo: Jav The_DoC_66]Gareth Bale and Jan Vertonghen have both been included in the Premier League ‘Team of the Year’ at the PFA awards ceremony. Both are fully deserving of this recognition for their contribution to Tottenham’s season. Vertonghen has made a great impression at the club in his first season in England. He has shown great adaptability playing in central defence with numerous partners and also at left back. He has been outstanding throughout the season having joined last summer as a replacement for Ledley King who retired due to his continuous injury problems. Vertonghen has also shown his worth to the team when going forward – he has scored 6 goals and has the ability to play a creative pass to release others. The win at Swansea  saw him at his best where he scored the first goal, linking up with Gareth Bale and showing the control of a striker as he put Spurs ahead. He then repaid Bale by again stepping forward to collect the ball in midfield and playing Bale in to give Tottenham a two goal advantage.

In his final season with Ajax he was appointed captain and led them as they retained their League title. Vertonghen made 31 appearances and scored 8 goals. He won the Dutch “Player of the Year ‘ award and a similar award at Ajax.

Gareth Bale has had an outstanding season and his remarkable run of scoring outstanding goals made him certain of inclusion in the Premier League team.

Tottenham supporters were pleased with the inclusion of the two players in the team.

Premier League ‘Team of the Year’:

De Gea; Zabaleta, Ferdinand, Vertonghen, Baines; Mata, Carrick; Hazard, Suarez, Bale; Van Persie.