Gareth Bale the FWA Player of the Year [Photo: Jav The_DoC_66]

Tottenham's Gareth Bale Wins Football Writers Player of The Year

Gareth Bale has made a clean sweep of the Player of the Year awards this season. He has added the Football Writers’ Player of the Year award to the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year awards he received last weekend.

In a tremendous season for Bale with both Tottenham and Wales he has been the outstanding player with amazing individual performances and a list of exceptional goals in match-winning situations. He has scored 24 goals for Tottenham this season – 19 in the Premier League, 2 in Cup competitions and 3 in the Europa League. He also scored vital goals for Wales in their World Cup qualifying campaign.

Gareth Bale is the first Tottenham player to win the award since David Ginola in 1999. Other Tottenham ‘Legends’ who have won the award are Danny Blanchflower (twice), Pat Jennings, Steve Perryman, Clive Allen, Gary Lineker, Jurgen Klinsmann and Ginola. Allen and Ginola also won the PFA Player of the Year award in the same season but Bale is the first Tottenham player to win all three, including the PFA Young Player of the Year.

To complete a great season for Bale would be for Tottenham to qualify for next season’s Champions League competition. So there’s still some work for Gareth Bale to do in the next four matches.



Tags: FWA Player Of The Year Gareth Bale PFA Awards Soccer Tottenham Hotspur

comments powered by Disqus